2017-09-10 / News

Montrose Hall of Fame announces Class of 2017 inductees

The Montrose Sports and Community Hall of Fame announce its Class of 2017. The inductees will be honored at a special video induction ceremony on Sunday, Oct. 15, at 2 p.m. in the Montrose Schools Auditorium. The public is invited to attend.

Tickets go on sale for $15 at the Montrose Administration Office on September 17, and includes admission, souvenir book and social time with hot and cold hors d’oeuvres following the ceremony.

Three generations of the Thorsby Family, who have operated Riverside Market for a span of 70 years, will be honored with the Community Service Award: Alfred Sr., Alfred, Jr., and sons Brad, Barry and Pat have provided dedicated financial and food donations to the Montrose Community for seven decades.

Sports awards:

• Josh Cross (2004) – Outstanding wrestling, football and track athlete. He was a three-time state wrestling champion and high school national All-American. He was also first-team all-conference as a standout running back and defensive lineman in football. He attended Michigan State University on a wrestling scholarship.

• Linden ‘Bo’ Moore, Ph.D. (1998) – Outstanding high school and collegiate athlete. He received two-time All-American football honors and two-time All-Conference accolades at Ferris State University. He received his doctorate earlier this year while serving as high school principal of his alma mater.

• 1997-98 State Champion Wrestling Teams – These record-smashing teams included:

1997 wrestling team – Clint Galvas, Nick Persails, Ed Magrys, Mike Gibson, Jason Emmendorfer, Anthony Vigil, Andy Bernard, Jake Clark, John Ruddy, Winston Ruffin, Aaron Emmendorfer, Derek Davis, Nick Loafman, Adam Powell, Travis Newton, Brad Fortenberry, Jason Missentzis, Jason Patterson, Scott Head and Jason Pollard.

1998 wrestling team – Josh Henrick, Derrick Cummins, Wesley Fisk, Grant Barror, Aaron Fogelsonger, Rajendran Kumaraswamy, Jeremy Cochrane, Aaron Rush, Juston Witney, Matt Duncan, Justin Missentzis, Clint Galvas, Nick Persails, Eddie Magrys, Jason Emmendorfer, Andy Bernard, Jake Clark, John Ruddy, Winston Ruffin, Aaron Emmendorfer, Derek Davis, Nick Loafman and Adam Powell.

Coaches were: Jake Clark, Rudy Newton, Earl Ruffin, Bobby Emmendorfer, Dave Ruddy, Matt Bishop and Mark Kleinhans

Look for a detailed article about inductees in a future edition of the Citizen. Tickets should be purchased by Oct. 5. Out-of-towners can contact Tanya at (517) 577-4721 or Brenda at (810) 223-1195 for tickets.

Return to top

Copyright © 2009-2018 Tri-County Citizen, All Rights Reserved

Click here for digital edition
2017-09-10 digital edition