2011-06-05 / News

Redistricting Saginaw County reduces local commissioner representation


CHESANING TWP - During the June 2 Chesaning Township Board meeting, Supervisor Bob Corrin reported that through redistricting, Saginaw County will be switching from 15 commissioners down to 11.

Corrin explained that Chesaning Township will now be grouped together with seven other townships: Brady, Brant, Fremont, Lakefield, Richland, Thomas, and Jonesfield. Together, they will have one vote.

Maple Grove will now be in the same district as Albee Township.

Corrin commented that Saginaw Township has more population than our eight townships combined.

“There are going to be some changes,” he said, “and I don’t think they’re going to be in our best interest.”

Township Trustee Pete Hemgesberg asked, “How do they determine which townships go together?”

Corrin responded, “by population.”

Hemgesberg responded, “You’d think Maple Grove would go with us.”

Township Clerk Sue Emmendorfer commented, “They’re dividing and conquering.” She added that she believes there will probably be different state representation as well; referring to state representative and state senator.

Return to top

Copyright © 2009-2018 Tri-County Citizen, All Rights Reserved